MergeHarbor vs Greptile
Both review pull requests with context from your whole codebase and price reviews in credits by depth. MergeHarbor adds a verification pass on findings before they are posted, a merge gate on GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Gitea and Azure DevOps, pooled credits, Azure DevOps support, and a tamper-evident audit log on every plan.
Information about Greptile is from its public website as of October 21, 2026. Sources
At a glance
Findings are checked before they are posted
MergeHarbor runs a second pass that tries to disprove each draft finding, citing the code it checked; disproved findings are never posted. Greptile's public docs describe reducing noise by learning which comment types a team ignores and by strictness settings.[1]
Credits pooled across the organization
MergeHarbor Essentials is $25 per active developer per month with 100 credits each, Team $55 with 200 and Advanced $85 with 300, pooled across the organization; extra credits are $0.25. Greptile Pro is $30 per seat with 50 credits each; extra credits are $1 and are counted per developer, not pooled.[2][3]
Azure DevOps and Gitea on every plan
MergeHarbor supports Azure DevOps (Beta) and Gitea or Forgejo (Beta) on every plan, including the trial. Greptile's list of code providers does not include Azure DevOps, and offers Gitea with Greptile Enterprise.[4]
Audit log on every plan
Every MergeHarbor plan includes roles, API keys and a tamper-evident audit log. Single sign-on (SAML 2.0 or OIDC) is on Enterprise, as Greptile lists SSO/SAML under its Enterprise plan.[2]
Detailed comparison
Numbers in brackets link to the Greptile page each fact comes from. Plan names are shown where a capability depends on the plan.
Swipe the table to see both columns.
| Capability | MergeHarbor | Greptile |
|---|---|---|
| Review quality approach | ||
| Codebase context | Yes.Code graph, text index and semantic index of each repository | Yes.Builds a graph of the repository's files, functions and dependencies[5] |
| Review depth tiers | Standard, Deep, Max (1, 3, 10 credits) and Auto; Deep from Team, Max from Advanced | Base, Plus, Apex (1, 3, 10 credits) and Auto[3]Tier names differ; credit costs per tier are the same |
| Verification pass on every finding before it is posted | Yes.A second pass tries to disprove findings before they are posted; disproved findings are never posted | Not described in public docs[6]Greptile's 'Anatomy of a Review' lists detecting the PR, building context and posting feedback; it does not describe a verification step. Absence from docs is not proof the product lacks one |
| Tests run in a sandbox | Yes.Proof runs write tests that try to reproduce findings (Team, Advanced and Enterprise) | Yes.TREX writes and runs end-to-end tests of a pull request (3 credits per run)[3]TREX is described on the key features page: [5] |
| Learns from team feedback | Yes.From reactions and replies; you can see and undo what it learns | Yes.From thumbs up/down and short replies[5] |
| Workflow | ||
| Merge readiness | Yes.Merge gate: one verdict, a 0–100 readiness score and a checklist, advisory or enforced, on GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Gitea and Azure DevOps | 0–5 confidence score in the review summary; optional GitHub status check[7]Confidence score: [6] |
| Auto-approve low-risk pull requests | Yes. | Yes.Beta[5] |
| Send findings to coding agents, MCP server | Yes. | Yes.[5] |
| Deployment & data | ||
| Self-hosting | Yes.Enterprise: Kubernetes (Helm) or AWS (Terraform) | Yes.Enterprise: Docker Compose, Kubernetes, air-gapped environments[8]Enterprise plan: [2] |
| Your own model provider accounts | Hosted: no, reviews run on MergeHarbor's models, included in every plan. Self-hosted (Enterprise): your own provider accounts | Self-hosted: OpenAI, Anthropic, AWS Bedrock, Azure OpenAI, GCP Vertex AI. Hosted cloud: not stated publicly[8] |
| Customer code used to train models | Never, by MergeHarbor or the model providers it uses | May use aggregated, anonymized customer data to train models; organization admins can opt out. Self-hosted: not unless configured[9]Greptile Security Practices page, last updated October 18, 2026 |
| Security & compliance | ||
| SOC 2 | No SOC 2 report yet; readiness work under way, Type I audit planned | Yes.SOC 2 Type II[9] |
| Single sign-on | Yes.Enterprise (SAML 2.0 or OIDC) | Yes.Enterprise[2] |
| Compliance evidence per merged change, mapped to SOC 2, ISO 27001 and PCI DSS | Yes.Advanced and Enterprise | Not stated publicly[2]Greptile's Enterprise plan lists security and compliance, SSO/SAML and a custom DPA; per-change evidence records are not described |
| Integrations | ||
| GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket Cloud | Yes.Every plan | Yes.Every plan[4]Bitbucket Cloud is Beta at MergeHarbor |
| GitHub Enterprise Server, GitLab Self-Managed, Bitbucket Data Center | Yes.Enterprise | Yes.Enterprise[4] |
| Azure DevOps | Yes.Beta, every plan (Azure DevOps Server on Enterprise) | Not listed[4] |
| Gitea | Yes.Gitea and Forgejo, Beta, every plan | Yes.Enterprise[4] |
| Perforce | Yes.Helix Core through Helix Swarm, Beta | Yes.P4 Code Review, on-premises deployments only[4] |
| Jira and Linear | Yes. | Yes.[10]Linear: [11] |
| Pricing | ||
| Free plan | No free plan: a 14-day free Team trial, and free reviews for public open-source repositories | Starter: 1 active developer, 50 credits a month[2] |
| Paid plan list price | Essentials $25, Team $55 and Advanced $85 per active developer per month ($20, $45 and $70 billed annually) | Pro: $30 per seat per month[2]Both count a developer whose pull request was reviewed in the billing period |
| Included credits | 100, 200 or 300 per active developer by plan, pooled across the organization | 50 per seat; overage is per developer, not pooled[3] |
| Additional credits | $0.25 each | $1 each[3] |
| Spend controls | Monthly budget, a hard monthly limit on extra spend and a per-pull-request credit cap | Flex usage limit for the organization[3] |
| Open-source projects | Public repositories on github.com, gitlab.com, bitbucket.org, gitea.com and codeberg.org reviewed free, no monthly cap (hourly fair use) | Free for qualified non-commercial projects with an OSI-approved license, by application[2] |
Where MergeHarbor stands out
Fewer comments to dismiss
Draft findings go through a verification pass that tries to prove them wrong (on by default; always on Deep and Max). The share it stops is shown in Analytics, so you can see the filter working.
One merge verdict on every code host
The merge gate combines findings, proof runs, linked issue criteria, tests, change risk and approvals into a verdict and a checklist, as a check on GitHub and a status on GitLab, Bitbucket, Gitea and Azure DevOps.
Predictable cost
Credits are pooled across the organization, every pull request can have a credit cap, and each review shows what it cost step by step.
Evidence your auditors can use
On Enterprise, every merged pull request gets a sealed change-management record, checked against policies you write as code and mapped to SOC 2, ISO 27001 and PCI DSS.
Where Greptile may fit better
No tool is right for every team. These are cases where Greptile may suit you better, based on what it publishes.
You need a SOC 2 Type II report today
Greptile says it is SOC 2 Type II compliant. MergeHarbor does not yet have a SOC 2 report; readiness work is under way and a Type I audit is planned.[9]
You want a longer customer track record
Greptile says more than 22,000 teams use it and names customers on its homepage. MergeHarbor is a newer product.[12]
You run air-gapped or prefer Docker Compose
Greptile documents air-gapped deployments and a Docker Compose option for up to 100 developers, as well as Kubernetes. MergeHarbor self-hosting uses Kubernetes or AWS.[8]
You use GitHub Enterprise Cloud with data residency
Greptile lists GitHub Enterprise Cloud with data residency (ghe.com) as a supported provider on its Enterprise plan; MergeHarbor does not list it.[4]
Frequently asked questions
Can I switch from Greptile?
Yes. Run mh import in a repository that has greptile.json or .greptile/ folders: it converts strictness, instructions, ignore patterns, triggers, author, branch and label filters, rules and custom context into .mergeharbor/ configuration, and lists anything it cannot convert. Start with a dry run, then mh import --write and mh config check.
Does MergeHarbor catch more bugs than Greptile?
We don't claim that. We publish our own benchmark, 34 real bugs in 33 pull requests plus 7 clean changes, with every case and result, but we have not run Greptile on these cases, so it is not a comparison. The fairest test is a trial on your own repositories.
How does pricing compare?
Greptile has a free plan for one developer with 50 credits a month; MergeHarbor has a 14-day free Team trial and no free plan. Both price reviews by depth at 1, 3 or 10 credits. MergeHarbor Essentials, Team and Advanced are $25, $55 and $85 per active developer per month ($20, $45 and $70 billed annually) with 100, 200 or 300 pooled credits each and $0.25 per extra credit; Deep reviews start on Team and Max on Advanced. Greptile Pro is $30 per seat with 50 credits and $1 per extra credit, counted per developer. Check both pricing pages for current terms.
Can we use our own model provider accounts?
Not on the hosted service: MergeHarbor runs every review on its own models, included in your plan, so you never supply, share or pay for model API keys. Self-hosted Enterprise deployments use your own model provider accounts. Greptile documents custom LLM providers for its self-hosted deployments.
Can we run both during an evaluation?
Yes. MergeHarbor reviews only the repositories you select, so you can try it on a few repositories while the rest stay as they are.
Have another question? Talk to our team
Sources
Greptile pages, checked on October 21, 2026:
- [1]greptile.com/docs/how-greptile-works/nitpicks
- [2]greptile.com/pricing
- [3]greptile.com/docs/code-review-bot/billing-seats
- [4]greptile.com/docs/integrations/code-providers
- [5]greptile.com/docs/code-review/key-features
- [6]greptile.com/docs/code-review/first-pr-review
- [7]greptile.com/docs/code-review/greptile-json-reference
- [8]greptile.com/docs/deployment-options
- [9]greptile.com/security
- [10]greptile.com/docs/jira-integration
- [11]greptile.com/docs/linear-integration
- [12]greptile.com
MergeHarbor facts come from our own pages:
- /compliance
- /docs/ai-data
- /docs/merge-gate
- /docs/perforce
- /docs/proof-runs
- /docs/review-tiers
- /docs/self-hosting
- /features/coding-agents
- /features/context
- /features/learning
- /features/review-agent
- /integrations
- /pricing
- /security
Greptile and CodeRabbit are trademarks of their respective owners. Information about other products is from their public websites as of October 21, 2026; tell us if anything is out of date.
See how MergeHarbor reviews your code
Try it on a few repositories and compare the comments on your own pull requests.